John Henry Song Lyrics

Bruce Springsteen


publisher: ©Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Warner/Chappell Music, Inc., Universal Music Publishing Group
writers: Brownie Mac-Ghee, Sonny (usa Terry, Sonny (us Terry, Traditional, Pd Traditional
album: Track 5 in album We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions
release date: 2006-4-24
popularity : 43 users have visited this page.
length: 5:08
trumpet: Mark Pender
double bass: Jeremy Chatzky
mixer: Bob Clearmountain
recorded by: Toby Scott
violin: Soozie Tyrell and Sam Bardfeld
background vocals: Larry Eagle, Mark Pender, Soozie Tyrell, Eddie Manion, Richie "La Bamba" Rosenberg, Sam Bardfeld, Jeremy Chatzky, Frank Bruno and Mark Clifford
guitar: Frank Bruno
drums & percussion: Larry Eagle
saxophone: Eddie Manion
trombone: Richie "La Bamba" Rosenberg
banjo: Mark Clifford
lead vocals & background vocals: Bruce Springsteen
assistant mixer: Brandon Duncan
assistant recorded by: Ross Peterson and Kevin Buell
Hammond organ & organ & piano & accordion: Charlie Giordano
piano & Hammond organ & mandolin & percussion & harmonica & guitar & tambourine: Bruce Springsteen
arranger: Bruce Springsteen
writer: [traditional]

Album Information

label: Columbia
country(area): Germany
format: CD
barcode: 828768307427
script: Latin

Cover Art

Bruce Springsteen We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions cover art


sponsored links

It's likely your browser's cookies are disabled. You'll need to turn cookies on. We can only display part of these lyrics to any suspicious robots due to licensing restrictions.

Well, John Henry was a little baby
Sittin' on his dady's knee
He pick up a hammer and a little piece of steel,
And cried, "Hammer's gonna be the death of me, Lord, Lord
Hammer's gonna be the death of me"

Now the captain he said to John Henry,
"I'm gonna bring that steam drill around
I'm gonna bring that steam drill out on these tracks
I'm gonna knock that steel on down, God, God
I'm gonna knock that steel on down"

John Henry told his captain,
"Lord, man ain't nothin' but a man
But efore I let that steam drill beat me down


Track Listing

CD 1
  • 1 Old Dan Tucker
  • 2 Jesse James
  • 3 Mrs. McGrath
  • 4 O Mary Don’t You Weep
  • 5 John Henry
  • 6 Erie Canal
  • 7 Jacob’s Ladder
  • 8 My Oklahoma Home
  • 9 Eyes on the Prize
  • 10 Shenandoah
  • 11 Pay Me My Money Down
  • 12 We Shall Overcome
  • 13 Froggie Went a Courtin’