Christy Moore - Delirium Tremens Lyrics

Christy Moore Where I Come From cover art
sponsored links

I dreamt a dream the other night I couldn't sleep a wink
The rats were tryin' to count the sheep and I was off the drink
There were footsteps in the parlour and voices on the stairs
I was climbin' up the walls and movin' round the chairs.
I looked out from under the blanket up at the fireplace.
The Pope and John F. Kennedy were starin' in me face.*
Suddenly it dawned at me I was getting the old D.T.s
When the Child o' Prague began to dance around the mantlepiece.

Goodbye to the Port and Brandy, to the Vodka and the Stag,
To the Schmiddick and the Harpic, the bottled draught and keg.
As I sat lookin' up the Guinness ad I could never figure out
How your man stayed up on the surfboard after 14 pints of stout.

Well I swore upon the bible I'd never touch a drop.
My heart was palpitatin' I was sure 'twas going to stop,
Thinkin' I was dyin' I gave my soul to God to keep.
A tenner to St. Anthony to help me get some sleep.
I fell into an awful nightmare - got a dreadful shock.
When I dreamt there was no Duty-free at the airport down in Knock.
George Seawright was sayin' the rosary and SPUC were on the pill.**
Frank Patterson was gargled and he singin' Spancil Hill.


I dreamt that Mr. Haughey had recaptured Crossmaglen
Then Garret got re-elected and gave it back again.
Dick Spring and Roger Casement were on board the Marita-Ann
As she sailed into Fenit they were singin' Banna Strand.
I dreamt Archbishop McNamara was on Spike Island for 3 nights
Havin' been arrested for supportin' Traveller's rights.
I dreamt that Ruairi Quinn was smokin' marijuana in the Dail
Barry Desmond handin' Frenchies out to scuts in Fianna Fail.


I dreamt of Nell McCafferty and Mary Kenny too
The things that we got up to, but I'm not tellin' you.
I dreamt I was in a jacuzzi along with Alice Glenn
'twas then I knew I'd never ever, ever drink again.

Track Listing
CD 1
  • 1 Where I Come From
  • 2 Arthur's Day
  • 3 Veronica Guerin
  • 4 Scallcrows 2
  • 5 Derby Day
  • 6 Delirium Tremens
  • 7 The Stardust Song
  • 8 Johnny Connors
  • 9 The Time Has Come
  • 10 The Birmingham Six
  • 11 St. Brendan's Voyage
  • 12 On the Mainland
  • 13 Barrowland
  • 14 Minds Locked Shut
  • 15 Song for Imelda Riney
    CD 2
  • 1 North and South of the River
  • 2 Welcome to the Cabaret
  • 3 Giuseppe/ Away Ye Broken Heart (live from Belfast)
  • 4 The Ballad of Ruby Walsh
  • 5 Easter Snow
  • 6 Viva la quinte brigada
  • 7 Song for Anne Lovett
  • 8 Riding the High Stool
  • 9 On the Bridge
  • 10 Casey
  • 11 Whacker Humphries
  • 12 Knock Airport
  • 13 Boning Hall
  • 14 Encore
  • 15 Arthur's Day (live from Whelans)
    CD 3
  • 1 Lisdoonvarna
  • 2 The Two Conneeleys
  • 3 Tyrone Boys
  • 4 Strange Ways
  • 5 Yellow Triangle
  • 6 The Boy From Tamlaghtduff
  • 7 Haiti
  • 8 Yellow Furze Woman
  • 9 Lovely Young One
  • 10 In Praise of Mullaghmore
  • 11 The Wicklow Boy (live from Lisdoonvarna)
  • 12 Joxer Goes to Stuttgart
  • 13 Ballydine
  • 14 Me and the Rose
  • 15 Where I Come From (live from Knocknagoshel)

  • Credits
    album: Track in album Where I Come From
    release date: 2013-11-4
    popularity : 99 users have visited this page.
    genres: Folk, World, & Country
    length: 3:07
    producer: Christy Moore and Declan Sinnott
    Album Information
    label: Columbia
    country(area): Europe
    format: CD
    barcode: 888837901826
    script: Latin