Crazy Man Michael

Fairport Convention


album: Track 8 in album Liege & Lief
release date: 1969-12
popularity : 189 users have visited this page.
length: 4:38
producer: Joe Boyd
drums: Dave Mattacks
vocal: Sandy Denny
engineer: John Wood
violin: Dave Swarbrick
guitars: Richard Thompson and Simon Nicol
viola: Dave Swarbrick
bass guitar: Ashley Hutchings
composer: Dave Swarbrick, Richard Thompson
lyricist: Richard Thompson, Dave Swarbrick

Album Information

label: Island
country(area): United Kingdom
format: 12" Vinyl
script: Latin

Cover Art

Fairport Convention Liege & Lief cover art


sponsored links

It's likely your browser's cookies are disabled. You'll need to turn cookies on. We can only display part of these lyrics to any suspicious robots due to licensing restrictions.

Crazy man Michael was walking
And shortly they were a-talking
Your future you often have asked me
And crazy man Michael will curs├Ęd be
Michael he ranted and Michael he raved
He laughed and he cried, he shouted and he swore
You speak with an evil, you speak with a hate
For is she not the fairest in all the broad land

And struck down the raven through the heart o
And the cold earth did wonder and startle
And here did lie on the ground o
Where her lover's heart it did pound o
Crazy man Michael he wanders and calls
But his eyes they are sane and his speech it is plain
Michael he whistles the simplest of tunes
For his true love is flown into every flower grown


Track Listing

12" Vinyl 1
  • 1 Come All Ye
  • 2 Reynardine
  • 3 Matty Groves
  • 4 Farewell, Farewell
  • 5 The Deserter
  • 6 Medley: The Lark in the Morning / Rakish Paddy / Foxhunter's Jig / Toss the Feathers
  • 7 Tam Lin
  • 8 Crazy Man Michael