Big Iron Lyrics

Johnny Cash

publisher: ©Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Warner/Chappell Music, Inc.
writers: Martin Robinson
album: Track in album Unearthed
release date: 2003-11-25
popularity : 4 users have visited this page.
length: 3:52
composer: Marty Robbins

Cover Art

Johnny Cash Unearthed cover art
sponsored links

To the town of Agua Fria rode a stranger one fine day
Hardly spoke to folks around him didn't have too much to say
No one dared to ask his business no one dared to make a slip
For the stranger there among them had a big iron on his hip
Big iron on his hip

It was early in the morning when he rode into the town
He came riding from the south side slowly lookin' all around
He's an outlaw loose and running came the whisper from each lip
And he's here to do some business with the big iron on his hip
Big iron on his hip

In this town there lived an outlaw by the name of Texas Red
Many men had tried to take him and that many men were dead
He was vicious and a killer though a youth of twenty four
And the notches on his pistol numbered one an nineteen more
One and nineteen more

Now the stranger started talking made it plain to folks around
Was an Arizona ranger wouldn't be too long in town
He came here to take an outlaw back alive or maybe dead
And he said it didn't matter he was after Texas Red
After Texas Red

Wasn't long before the story was relayed to Texas Red
But the outlaw didn't worry men that tried before were dead
Twenty men had tried to take twenty men had made a slip
Twenty one would be the ranger with the big iron on his hip
Big iron on his hip

The morning passed so quickly it was time for them to meet
It was twenty past eleven when they walked out in the street
Folks were watching from their windows every-body held their breath
They knew this handsome ranger was about to meet his death
About to meet his death

There was forty feet between them when they stopped to make their play
And the swiftness of the ranger is still talked about to-day
Texas Red had not cleared leather when a bullet fairly ripped
And the rangers aim was deadly with the big iron on his hip
Big iron on his hip

It was over in a moment and the folks had gathered round
There before them lay the body of the outlaw on the ground
Oh he might have gone on living but he made one fatal slip
When he tried to match the ranger with the big iron on his hip
Big iron on his hip

Big iron Big iron
When he tried to match the ranger with the big iron on his hip The Big Iron on his hip

Track Listing

CD 1
  • 1 The Long Black Veil
  • 2 Flesh and Blood
  • 3 Just the Other Side of Nowhere
  • 4 If I Give My Soul
  • 5 Understand Your Man
  • 6 Banks of the Ohio
  • 7 Two Timin' Woman
  • 8 The Caretaker
  • 9 Old Chunk of Coal
  • 10 I'm Going to Memphis
  • 11 Breaking Bread
  • 12 Waiting for a Train
  • 13 Casey's Last Ride
  • 14 No Earthly Good
  • 15 The Fourth Man in the Fire
  • 16 Dark as a Dungeon
  • 17 Book Review
  • 18 Down There by the Train (alternate take)
    CD 2
  • 1 Pocahontas
  • 2 I'm a Drifter (version 1)
  • 3 Trouble in Mind
  • 4 Down the Line
  • 5 I'm Movin' On
  • 6 As Long as the Grass Shall Grow
  • 7 Heart of Gold
  • 8 The Running Kind
  • 9 Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby
  • 10 Brown-Eyed Handsome Man
  • 11 "T" for Texas
  • 12 Devil's Right Hand
  • 13 I'm a Drifter (version 2)
  • 14 Like a Soldier
  • 15 Drive On (alternate lyrics)
  • 16 Bird on a Wire (live with orchestra)
    CD 3
  • 1 A Singer of Songs
  • 2 The L & N Don't Stop Here Anymore
  • 3 Redemption Song
  • 4 Father and Son
  • 5 Chattanooga Sugar Babe
  • 6 He Stopped Loving Her Today
  • 7 Hard Times
  • 8 Wichita Lineman
  • 9 Cindy
  • 10 Big Iron
  • 11 Salty Dog
  • 12 Gentle on My Mind
  • 13 You Are My Sunshine
  • 14 You'll Never Walk Alone
  • 15 The Man Comes Around (early take)
    CD 4
  • 1 Where We'll Never Grow Old
  • 2 I Shall Not Be Moved
  • 3 I Am a Pilgrim
  • 4 Do Lord
  • 5 When the Roll Is Called Up Yonder
  • 6 If We Never Meet Again This Side of Heaven
  • 7 I'll Fly Away
  • 8 Where the Soul of Man Never Dies
  • 9 Let the Lower Lights Be Burning
  • 10 When He Reached Down
  • 11 In the Sweet By and By
  • 12 I'm Bound for the Promised Land
  • 13 In the Garden
  • 14 Softly and Tenderly
  • 15 Just as I Am
    CD 5
  • 1 Delia's Gone
  • 2 Bird on a Wire
  • 3 Thirteen
  • 4 Rowboat
  • 5 The One Rose (That's Left in My Heart)
  • 6 Rusty Cage
  • 7 Southern Accents
  • 8 The Mercy Seat
  • 9 Solitary Man
  • 10 Wayfaring Stranger
  • 11 One
  • 12 I Hung My Head
  • 13 The Man Comes Around
  • 14 We'll Meet Again
  • 15 Hurt