Behind the Lines

Phil Collins


publisher: ©EMI Music Publishing, Peermusic Publishing
writers: Michael Rutherford, Phil Collins, Tony Banks
album: Track 3 in album Face Value
release date: 1981
popularity : 12 users have visited this page.
genres: Rock Funk / Soul Pop
styles: Soft Rock/Power Pop/Pop Rock/Ballad
length: 3:56
producer: Phil Collins
drums: Phil Collins
vocal: Phil Collins
trumpet: Michael Harris and Rahmlee Michael Davis
engineer: Hugh Padgham
guitar: Daryl Stuermer
tenor saxophone: Don Myrick
trombone: Louis Satterfield
synthesizer: J. Peter Robinson
bass guitar: Alphonso Johnson
assistant engineer: Nick Launay and Karen Segal
assistant producer: Hugh Padgham
lyricist: Mike Rutherford
composer: Tony Banks, Phil Collins, Mike Rutherford

Album Information

country(area): Europe
format: 12" Vinyl
script: Latin

Cover Art

Phil Collins Face Value cover art


sponsored links

It's likely your browser's cookies are disabled. You'll need to turn cookies on. We can only display part of these lyrics to any suspicious robots due to licensing restrictions.

I held the book so tightly in my hands,
It was strange I could not look away,

You gave me no warning
Right by your side
And I can be strong now, they don't frighten me
It's written in the book
The sun is hotter than before
But if the fire within your heart can beat the storm

To show our feelings
Your heart's empty
Nowhere to run to, please, oh please don't let me down
But wait a minute I don't understand
Don't want to leave you I don't want to go
Can't you see me I'm slipping away
Oh Lord
It's written in the book
I held the book so tightly in my hands
Oh, and even though we never, never touched

La la la la la la la la la la la

La la la la la la la la la la la
La la la la la la la la la la la


Track Listing

12" Vinyl 1
  • 1 In the Air Tonight
  • 2 This Must Be Love
  • 3 Behind the Lines
  • 4 The Roof Is Leaking
  • 5 Droned
  • 6 Hand in Hand
  • 7 I Missed Again
  • 8 You Know What I Mean
  • 9 Thunder and Lightning
  • 10 I’m Not Moving
  • 11 If Leaving Me Is Easy
  • 12 Tomorrow Never Knows