Who Sang One Place in the Night? Kenny Rogers

Kenny Rogers Gideon cover art
publisher: ©Universal Music Publishing Group
writers: Kim Carnes
release date: 1980
genres: Folk, World, & Country
styles: Country
length: 2:59
lead vocals: Kenny Rogers
Girl, don't wait you-up tonight
Don't leave on the light
'Cause you'll be sleepin' alone again
I know my intentions were the best
I had it all worked out, you see
But you deserve a whole lot better than me

You need a man
Whose heart is only one place in the night
Who'll stay right here and just be satisfied
You need a man
Who won't disappoint you every time
Who'll call and say our plans have changed
So don't wait up tonight

Stop me now
I've gone and talked too much again
You know I do that now and then
So pay no attention to me
If I-I say your name
A thousand times again and again
Just don't listen to me


  • 1 Goin' Home to Rock
  • 2 Gideon Tanner
  • 3 No Good Texas Rounder
  • 4 Don't Fall in Love With a Dreamer
  • 5 The Buckeroos
  • 6 You Were a Good Friend
  • 7 Call Me Up (The Phone Is in the Cradle)
  • 8 These Chains
  • 9 Somebody Help Me
  • 10 One Place in the Night
  • 11 Sayin' Goodbye
  • 12 Goin' Home to Rock (reprise)