Who Sang Properties of Dirt? 20 Minute Loop

20 Minute Loop Yawn + House = Explosion cover art
Release information
Release Date: 2005-2-22
length: 3:58
producer: 20 Minute Loop and Nils Erickson
membranophone: Mike Romano
vocal: Greg Giles and Kelly Atkins
mixer: Scott Greiner
flute: Kelly Atkins
guitar: Nils Erickson, Greg Giles and Joe Ostrowski
accordion: Kelly Atkins
pedal steel guitar: Nils Erickson
assistant recording engineer: Boone Spooner
bass guitar: Nils Erickson
synthesizer: Kelly Atkins
Rhodes piano: Kelly Atkins and Nils Erickson
recording engineer: Desmond Shea
additional recording engineer: Nils Erickson
composer: Greg Giles
lyricist: Greg Giles
Then she saw the streets between the crumbled knees of ruined queens,
Statues torn apart from every time her children fought,
A pack of hungry dogs that lick her hands and howl at mournful sounds
From smokeless, lonely towers,
The cold wind pushing up their empty mouths.
You're not alone--Godforsaken, maybe--but you've got a brand new home.

They creep over glass, the missing tears of Lincolns, Cadillacs,
Millions of themselves, the city's salt that glitters from the ground.
You're not alone...

Your room's near the top, where spiders tie your dreams in silky knots,
A board game made of wood, your head against the sloping roof,
A game devised by men who serve the caliph's court and study sand,
The properties of dirt, the smallest stones that work their way through her.

You're not alone...

CD 1
  • 1 Parking Lot
  • 2 Cora May
  • 3 Properties of Dirt
  • 4 Miriam Hopkins
  • 5 Book of J
  • 6 Carlos the Jackal
  • 7 Ambassadors
  • 8 It's Time to Honor Ghouls
  • 9 5 AM to 9 AM
  • 10 Our William Tell
  • 11 I'll Never Forget You