Who Sang Beauty? Daniel Lanois

Daniel Lanois Here Is What Is cover art
Release information
Release Date: 2008-3-18
Genre: Blues Pop Folk, World, & Country
length: 1:57
Some other versions of "Beauty"


Lanois: I’m trying to make a film that's beautiful in itself, about beauty, about the, the source of the, of the art rather than everything that surrounds the art
Eno: Yeah, yeah
Lanois: And I was hoping that you might say a couple of words about that subject matter 'cause, you know, you've always operated in a relatively quiet way, and yet, you're like a, a world artist
Eno: Well, I tell you, one thing I would say about your film is that, what would be really interesting for people to see, is how beautiful things grow out of shit. Because nobody ever believes that. You know, everybody thinks that Beethoven had his string quartets completely in his head. They'd somehow appeared there and formed in his head. Before he, and all he had to do was write them down and they would kind of be manifest to the world. But I think what's, what's so interesting and what would really be a lesson that everybody should learn is that things come out of nothing. Things evolve out of nothing. You know, the, the tiniest seed in the right situation turns into the most beautiful forest. And then the most promising seed in the wrong situation turns into nothing. And I think this would be important for people to understand, because it gives people confidence in their own lives to know that that's how things work. If you walk around with the idea that there are some people who are so gifted, they have these wonderful things in their head, but you're not one of them, you're just sort of a normal person, you could never do anything like that, then you live a different kind of life, you know. You, you could have another kind of life where you can say, where you say, well, I know that things come from nothing very much and start from unpromising beginnings, and I’m an unpromising beginning, and I could start something

CD 1
  • 1 Chest of Drawers
  • 2 Where Will I Be
  • 3 Here Is What Is
  • 4 Not Fighting Anymore
  • 5 Beauty
  • 6 Blue Bus
  • 7 Lovechild
  • 8 Harry
  • 9 Bells of Oaxaca
  • 10 This May Be the Last Time
  • 11 Smoke No.6
  • 12 I Like That
  • 13 Duo Glide
  • 14 Bladesteel
  • 15 Moondog
  • 16 Sacred and Secular
  • 17 Joy
  • 18 Luna Samba

  • Release information
    label: Red Floor Records
    country(area): United States
    format: CD
    barcode: 634457197428
    script: Latin